One of the highlights of NAMI North Carolina’s Annual Meeting is the presentation of our annual awards. Nominated by others in the NAMI community, the award recipients are people who have distinguished themselves in our fourfold mission to support those with mental health conditions and their loved ones, educate people on mental health and recovery, advocate for our priorities to those in seats of power, and to generate public awareness on mental health and stigma.

This year award winners include:

Thava Mehadevan – Steve Jordan Award,

Pamela Goodine – Steve Jordan Award,

Homer Butler Glover- John Baggett Award,

Annie Schmidt – Elaine and David Purpel Family Respite Award,

Barb Maier – Mike Mayer Advocate of the Year,

Mitch McGee – Mike Mayer Advocate of the Year,

Senator Sydney Batch – Legislator of the Year,

Faith Connections on Mental Illness – President’s Award,

Louise Whelton, Lifetime Achievement Award,

and with strong Board leadership, diverse and exciting programming for peers and families, and a commitment to the larger NAMI family, the 2021 Outstanding Affiliate Award goes to…

NAMI Union County!

Congratulations to all of our Award Recipients and thank you again for your contributions to North Carolina’s mental health!

More information and photos can be found here.